List of Women Chief Ministers in India - OneStopIndia

May 14, 2011

List of Women Chief Ministers in India

With Mamata Banerjee and J Jayalalithaa set to capture power in West Bengal and Tamil Nadu respectively, India could for the first time boast of four women Chief Ministers. Shiela Dikshit of Delhi has the distinction of the longest serving woman Chief Minister in post-independent India, has been serving for the past 12 years.

BSP supremo Mayawati has singlehandedly secured power in the largest state of Uttar Pradesh in 2007 elections and her victory at that time was seen as a defining moment in Indian politics.

Sucheta Kripalani of the Congress was the first woman Chief Minister of independent India having been at the helm of affairs in Uttar Pradesh (1963-67).

Vasundhara Raje of BJP became the first woman Chief Minister of Rajasthan (2003 -2008)

Nandini Satpathy of the Congress was the Chief Minister of Orissa (1972-74, 1974-76).

 Shashikala Kakodkar of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party was Chief Minister of the then Union territory of Goa for most part of the seventies.

 Syeed Anwara Taimur of Congress ruled seven months (1980-81) as Cheif Mnister of Assam.

The tenure of the late Janaki Ramachandran, wife of the Late M G Ramachandran, was the shortest. She was Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for less than a month in 1988.

Rajinder Kaur Bhattal of the Congress was the Punjab Chief Minister for a year in the mid-nineties while Uma Bharati had also a short tenure in Madhya Pradesh after leading the BJP in the Assembly elections of 2003.
Sushma Swaraj was Delhi Chief Minister for four months and Rabri Devi (W/o Lalu Prasad Yadav) of Bihar is Chief Minister for three times.

Recent years have in fact proved a boon to women leaders in India


Admission News Agriculture AIEEE Andaman nicobar Andhra Pradesh Animals APCPDCL Articles Assam Assamese Awareness Bank bank jobs Bhopal Biography Bollywood Business News capital markets Career Portals Cars CBSE Results Chandigarh Chetanasforum Chhattisgarh Competition Covid-19 Credit Cards Crowd Sourcing CSIR Delhi University Digital India Download MP3 E-Commerce e-edition e-version Eamcet 2011 EDCET eenadu employment news epaper Engineering Entrance Exam entertainment Entrepreneur epaper Exams Fellowships Festivals Finance freshersworld Funny Ghaziabad Goa State governance govt jobs Govt Websites Green Earth GST Gujarati Haryana Hindi Horoscope hot jobs Hot News Hyundai IAS ICET 2011 ICET Key download Image Income Tax india online Indian Railways Industries Infographic Interesting Internet Internships IRCTC JIPMER jiwaji university gwalior jiwaji university result 2011 Job Portal Job Websites Kannada Karnataka Kerala Kolkata LIC India Life Style links lists Literature Loans Lord Vishnu Lucknow Madhya Pradesh Maharastra Malayalam Marathi Ministry of Urban Development Mobile Modi Money Mouse Movies MSME Mumbai Music Must See New Delhi news agency india Newspaper Noida Nokia Online TV Orissa Oriya Pakistani Patna Pension personal care Personality Politics Press Price in India pti india pti india news pti news Punjab Punjabi qna Radio Rajasthan Rakhi Ranchi Relationship Report Results rojgar samachar RTI salagrama stones Samsung sarkari naukri SBI sbi po sbi po results 2011 Scholarships Science Scientists sebi Service Shareworthy Shopping sites Social Media Songs Sports SSC Stock Market stocks Survey Tablets Tamil Tamil Nadu Tax Technology and Gadgets Telugu cinema telugu cinema websites telugu news online telugu news paper Temples Tennis Test tollywood Top 10's Top News Top Sites Tourism Trailers Trainee Travel Trending TV Channel UGC UGC NET Upsc Urdu Useful Websites Uttar Pradesh Video Video Songs Viral websites West Bengal women cm's india

Post Top Ad